Home Customer Info My Account Forum Contact Us Special Offers

Blaster 2e

Product Code: BLASTER-2E
Reviews (9)

Reviews for Blaster 2e

 9 reviews
Write a review

15/07/2014 14:22 assessment of kit parts & layout 

Reviewed by: J.H.Foster.

As an ex competition F/F builder/flyer, I was impressed with the build standard of the 'Blaster 2e'....the wings are fabulous. I have just started installation of the CF2822.
The model will include a lot of my personal mods to refine the build. I found the the various builder/flyers websites quite informative.

11/05/2013 12:15 blaster 2e 

Comment by: d gay.

Very taken with the superb quality of this model.
Once again you get what you pay for, cannot be improved in any way.
10 out of 10

30/08/2012 22:53 Blaster 2e - useful advice on assembly 

Reviewed by: Richard

Dream Machine! High pressure, stable air, no thermals but a gentle flow of air up a large south facing stubble field with a ten foot hedge row at the top. My Blaster 2e tracked to and fro along the stationary wave created by the hedge, no power input required, just lowered the flaperons about 5 deg and immensely satisfying flying! A wonderfully aerodynamic machine.

My setup: EMAX 2822, 15A ESC, 10x6 prop, 4xSD100 servos, Futaba R617 2.4GHz Rx.
For light air 500mA 3s LiPo, giving 6 climbs of 30s. Flying weight for thermalling is 394g AUW.
For 15-20mph winds 850mAh LiPo, with AUW 415g; plenty of fast flying with good penetration to windward. No additional balancing weight needed.

Two noteworthy points concerning assembly:-
1) To get a really good alignment of the motor and spinner: ensure motor is mounted geometrically central on the supplied bulkhead, cut three air flow slots on the circumference, mount using 3mm bolts. Now face the smaller front mounting bulkhead with a thin ply disc. Drill a 3mm hole absolutely centerally and glue bulhead temporarily. You can now slide motor and bulkhead forward so that the shaft engages the 3mm hole and is thus in true axial alignment ready for epoxying into correct position.
2) A neat way of connecting wing servos to the Rx in the fuselage. Cut the female servo connectors from the wing servos. Now wire up the two futaba female connectors into a four wire harness(Common. +ve supply, signal left aileron, and signal right). Terminate this in a 4pin JST-XH socket (ie a balancer socket from Lipo). Feed the the females down through the wing pylon to the Rx Ch1 and Ch6. The second part of the harness starts with a four pin plug but you need to solder TWO +ve leads and TWO -ve leads - thus there are six wires, which will now go up to the opening on the underside of the wing and into the servo bays where they will be soldered onto the previous cut wires, and sleeved with heat shrink. By carefully arranging the length of the wiring you will be able to plug and unplug the wing AND separate the two wing halves, folding them together for transportation, while maintaining servo connection.

01/03/2012 13:50 Baster 2e 

Reviewed by: Bryan Windus-Smith

Very pleased with my Blaster 2e, it has opened me to a side of the hobby I had previously ignored.

I have enjoyed power flight and slope soaring for 30 years, and the Blaster 2e is my first moulded DLG / Thermal Soarer. The build was challenging, but satisfying, and all the build challenges melted away on the first flight - this is one incredible machine!

Having an all-moving tailplane, I did several un-powered glide tests to make sure it did not nose into the ground. By the third throw it glided flat for over 50 metres! The flaps have a massive effect and when fully deployed, the Blaster flies backwards in a 9mph breeze, yet remains completely under control. Some mix is needed with throttle and elevator as it wants to climb with power applied, but nothing serious.

It will find lift off almost anything or anyone: fence, tree-line, buildings, children, slight bump in the ground, etc. etc. There is a strange inner joy in finding lift like this, so much so, that I am now totally hooked on flat field soaring.

Service and help from Hyperflight has been without fault.

Would I recommend Hyperflight and the Blaster 2e? - Absolutely!

Set-up:
Dymond D47's all round
EMAX CF2822 Outrunner
DualSky 30 amp speed controller
LoongMax 500mAh 20C to 30C flight battery
8 x 4 CAM Carbon folding propeller with RFM CFK carbon spinner
Jeti Duplex 2.4EX R6 Rx with MUI 30 telemetry module

Motor / propeller combination gives 90 watts, which is enough to climb vertically out of sight.

All-up weight, with weight in the tail to balance: 14oz.

16/10/2009 13:54  

Reviewed by: John Fisher

Very pleased with the Blaster.
Flies amazingly well. I am very impressed.
All up weight is 478 gm.
Hacker A20 22L motor with X30 Controller and 9 x 5 Aeronaut folder
HYPERION G3 CX-25C 0850-3CELL LIPO.
Just need to buy 2.4 Radio to save some weight?

28/08/2009 12:53  

Reviewed by: John Fisher

Blaster arrived today less than 48 hours after order placed - amazingly quick.
Kit looks amazing too!
Thanks

15/05/2009 10:08 Report Back 

Reviewed by: AndrewT

I thought I'd report back on my two Blasters.

The e version is my most used and favourite model. It is fantastic to
fly, flies for 30 mins upwards on a 700 mah lipo and copes with quite
strong winds. The only thing it won't do is knife edge! I will have to
consider getting a spare in due course.

The dlg version is terrific - I can now get 5 mins upwards flights in
decent sunshine on the smallish playing fields at the bottom of my
garden. I have discovered that the secret to a high launch for me is to
be very relaxed and to extend my left arm with the transmitter as a
counter-weight. I have no idea how high I am getting - I would guess
about 100 feet at best. What should I be aiming at? I flew it at
Ivinghoe Beacon last Sunday in 15 knots of wind and it was superb. I
will need to get a lost model alarm as I messed up one landing behind
the hill and lost it behind a hawthorn tree.

Yours, Andrew

15/05/2009 09:17 Outstanding Quality 

Reviewed by: Jordi

First email:

I've been watching carefully my new "toy", and the word that comes to my mind is outstanding. I've been modelling for 35 years and I never found such high quality in a model. I also have a Stuart Blanchard's Calypso Sport and F3B New Age, they fly very well indeed, but they haven't the same manufacture quality.

I heard about Vladimir's building quality, but the only one model I saw some years ago was a Graphite. It looked very nice, but the Blaster overpassed it.

I'll be building it up next week (if work allows me to do so). I'll give you my comments soon.


Second email:

The Blaster got airborne today. It's a delightful to fly. It's very agile, tight thermal turns are possible without loosing any height.

I found the CG too forward without posibility to move any item backwards, I'm using 2S 800 mA Lipo (45g). This give me about 1 hour flight. I'm thinking about replacing the battery, 30g, perhaps, but I'm not sure. From your point of view, can you suggest any Lipo combination to achieve the right Blaster CG?

Pass my congratulations to Vladimir for this great design. Kind regards,

Jordi

(I suggest using light weight powertrains and 400-500mah 2S lipos, even if using lightweight tail servos - Neil.)

15/05/2009 08:58 Blaster 2e & Supra 

Reviewed by: JohnH

I just thought I would let you know how much I am impressed with the Blaster Electric, this week is the first opportunity I have had enough time to do it justice.

I am more than impressed with its performance, it exceeds all of my expectations, I have just come back from a session with just two powered launches with both flights having to spiral out of exessive lift with flight times of 45 and 38 minutes, the plane was as high as I could see effectively.

Last week I had the Blaster (non electric) out and recorded a flight time of 36 minutes again having to spiral out of lift. Lovely machines both.

I was also flying the Supra E on Sunday and got to a height of 290 Metres logged by the Alti Pro from Martin Bell from a launch height of 200 metres.

I am so impressed with the developments in the sport in the last couple of years, my flying buddies at my flying club thought I was mad about 5/6 years ago when I decided to ditch all of my I/C in favour of electric power, guess what most of them are flying now!

Again many thanks for introducing me to Vladimir's models

All the best

John

Blaster 2e

 (9 reviews)
Price: $393.92
1 in stock

Available Options

* Wing colour:
Quantity:   Add to basket